The Grafton Food Bank has been assisting Grafton residents for more than 25 years. First formed by longtime Grafton residents Maureen Clark, Nancy Hazen, Doris Metivier and Dolores Ward, they worked together with local churches, schools, community groups, businesses and residents to organize countless food drives. All Municipal Center employees at the time, they would often coordinate these efforts during work breaks, lunch hours and after work hours. Maureen, Nancy, Dolores, and Doris successfully petitioned the town to dedicate space to create a formal Food Bank inside the Municipal Center where it remains today. Over the years the Food Bank has grown to meet the increased need of those experiencing food insecurity. Thanks to the generosity of so many through food and monetary donations, the Food Bank has been able to continue meeting this need with the assistance of dedicated volunteers who remain committed to fulfilling its mission.

We are a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. We are also an all-volunteer organization. Over 95% of your monetary donations, and 100% of your food donations go directly to Grafton residents in need.  Other than a one-time Grant from the federal government’s CARES Act, we do not receive any funds from local, state or federal governments. For more than 25 years we have depended solely on the generous support of our community. 

We currently have over 50 volunteers who devote their valuable time to make the Grafton Food Bank a success not only by assisting with food distributions, but also by offering compassion and respect to all clients who visit the Food Bank. Volunteers can sign up each month for a range of activities. Some of these volunteer opportunities include:  

  • Assisting clients with monthly food shopping at the Food Bank
  • Sorting incoming food donations
  • Purchasing and delivering food from local supermarkets
  • Stocking shelves
  • Assisting clients with special holiday food baskets

The Grafton Food Bank’s Board of Directors is made up of the following individuals:

  • Jessica Melo              President
  • Joan Foley                 Vice President
  • Dolores Charron      Secretary
  • Owen Carr                 Treasurer
  • Joann Brennan
  • Rachel Costello
  • Roxanne Kaminski
  • Diana Scott
  • Paula Quartulli